Growing closer to God

bible.jpg

RockMTB Community, Steve A. here

In many conversations with some of you and in prayer requests, I have noticed a desire for a “growing closer” to God… as is my desire… And for some of you who may not even consider yourself a “Christian”, you still may experience a “wondering” of who God is… Well we can take great joy in this, even that “wondering” is from God,.. I pray that God grants you faith to believe, repent, and respond.

How do we “grow closer” to someone? You get to know this person, spend time with them, etc… So, as God continues to draw us unto Himself, we can “grow closer to Christ” by getting to know who He is. How? Well, one of the biggest ways He reveals himself to us in His word, the Bible.

Since becoming a Christian I’ve always heard people talk about this and have even tried many times to commit to some sort of regular reading schedule… with little or no success…

As many of us may attend different churches and may have differing opinions on certain subjects or views of theology, I think we, as a body of believers can be in 100% agreement on this… And in the fellowship of the Gospel, grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

At the beginning of this year the elders (pastors) of our church, proposed a church wide reading plan. It is not our own, but has been an awesome blessing for my family and me. I am amazed how easy it really is and how much I have been able to retain. This reading of the Bible, along with good exegetical preaching, study, and discipleship, is growing me closer to God, learning who I am in Christ, what I believe, and why I believe it.

I implore you, don’t just blow this off… please read the whole post here… and commit to this plan. At the end of the post there is a link to download a bookmark with the monthly readings.

Leave a Reply

